Ashes 2017 India vs New Zealand INDIA vs SRI LANKA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians to honor Sachin, Harbhajan and Malinga for 10 years with team

BCCI dignitaries and Bollywood celebrities also invited to the function.

By Jatin Sharma -

This IPL marks the 10th season of the tournament that has changed the landscape of T20 cricket all over the world. There have been many teams competing in the IPL over the years, but only Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have won the tournament two times in IPL history.

Mumbai Indians in particular, has been highly successful with two CLT20 titles as well in their kitty, apart from being the most expensive team bought in the IPL. It was bought at a price of $111.9 million by Mukesh Ambani’s Reliance industries.

In the celebrations of the team completing 10 years in the IPL, it will be felicitating three of its legends in Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh and Lasith Malinga in an event in Mumbai on April 10. Harbhajan Singh is one of only two players- the other being Virat Kohli- to play for a single franchise in IPL. Tendulkar was the icon player for Mumbai and retired in 2013 after Mumbai won the IPL for the first time. Malinga is the highest wicket taker in the tournament and joined the franchise in 2009. These three legends will be felicitated at the Ambani Residence, Antilla in Mumbai on April 10.

Former Mumbai Indian players/staff like Anil Kumble, Shaun Pollock, Ricky Ponting and Sanath Jayasuriya have also being invited to the function, along with BCCI dignitaries and Bollywood actors. Mumbai will play its first home game against Kolkata on April 10; while its IPL journey begins on April 6 against Pune.

Jatin Sharma

Everything Cricket | Music | Sarcasm | Food Four thin