Ashes 2017 India vs New Zealand INDIA vs SRI LANKA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop

The Five Most Successful Captains in IPL History

By Bhavesh Bhimani -

The Indian Premier League is all set to begin early next month. As the devoted fans of the world-renowned championship await the tenth edition of the league to sweep them away, it is a good time to look back at some memorable features of the tourney’s history.

Here, we look at the five most successful captains in the IPL’s nine-year history. The leaders who have flourished in handling the reins of their respective sides and led them to the most number of victories. Have a look.

5. Rohit Sharma – 34 wins:

Elevating star batsman as the captain of the side was the best decision that was taken by the Mumbai Indians’ management. Rohit reveled as a captain and his batting, too, improved by leaps and bounds. He thrives under pressure and led his team to two title wins along with one Champions League victory. In 58 matches as a captain, Rohit has won 34 matches and lost 24 times. His victory percentage is an outstanding 58.62.

4. Adam Gilchrist – 35 wins:

Australia’s wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist was surprisingly good as a captain of the Deccan Chargers and led them to a famous title victory in the 2009 edition of the IPL. He also led the Kings X11 Punjab side later on. With his cool and calm demeanor, Gilchrist captained his IPL sides in 74 matches and helped them win 35 times. His winning percentage was 47.29.

3. Virat Kohli – 36 wins:

Although he hasn’t been able to win any title till now, Virat Kohli has been a fabulous captain for the Royal Challengers of Bangalore. He has been ultra-aggressive, knows how to lead from the front and is always passionate. In 72 matches as a captain, Kohli has led his side to victory on 36 occasions and lost 31 times. His win percentage stands at an impressive 53.62.

2. Gautam Gambhir – 61 wins:

After Gautam Gambhir was assigned the role of the captain of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) he completely turned things around for them. He led them to title victories in 2012 and 2014 and continues to be an assertive and attacking captain for the side. In 107 matches as captain, Gambhir has won on 61 occasions and lost 45 times. His winning percentage is an excellent 57.47.

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – 83 wins:

India’s most successful captain ever has also been the IPL’s most prosperous skipper by a fair distance. He was the prime reason why the Chennai Super Kings, of which Dhoni was the captain for eight long seasons, were the most successful IPL side. Dhoni has led 143 times in the IPL and has won a whopping 83 matches while losing 59 of them. His winning percentage stands at a phenomenal 58.45 – one of the best in the league. Dhoni has been the captain for all the editions of the IPL thus far. But, unfortunately, this will be the first season where he will no longer be captain as Pune, the team which Dhoni was captaining last year, has decided to remove him from his leadership role. Regardless, Dhoni shall always remain the standout captain in IPL’s history.