Ashes 2017 India vs New Zealand INDIA vs SRI LANKA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop

Top 5 Batsmen With Most Runs In A Single Season In IPL History

By Bhavesh Bhimani -

The Indian Premier League is all set to begin early next month. Like always, the ardent fans of the world-renowned championship are waiting for the new season of the league with bated breath. The 10th edition is likely to have all the ingredients of great cricketainment that the IPL always offers. It is now a good time to look back at some memorable features of the tourney’s history.

Here, we look at the five batsmen with the most runs in a single season in the tournament’s history. These batsmen have dominated an entire season on their own and won matches single-handedly for their teams. Have a look.

5. Chris Gayle – 708 runs in IPL 2013:

He was the first man to cross the barrier of 700 runs in a single season of the IPL and is the only man to have done so twice. Gayle continued his rich form from 2012 and had another spectacular season as an opener for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. He butchered bowlers in the most brutal fashion and did so with utmost disdain. Gayle won matches all on his own and looked like an unstoppable force. In 16 matches that season, Gayle accumulated 708 runs at a cracking average of 59 with one century and four fifties. His strike-rate was a magnificent 156.29 and his best was a record-breaking unbeaten 175 against Pune – the highest ever individual score in IPL history.

4. Michael Hussey – 733 runs in IPL 2013:

Without much of a fuss, Chennai Super Kings opener Michael Hussey became the highest scorer of the tournament in the 2013 season. With his classy cover drives, pulls and cuts, Hussey was at his brilliant best that season and piled up an amazing 733 runs in 17 matches at a superb average of 52.35. He cracked 6 fifties and scored his runs at a strike-rate of 129.50 with a best of a match-winning 95.

3. Chris Gayle – 733 runs in IPL 2012:

That Chris Gayle is one of the most dangerous batsmen in the IPL is now widely known. The Royal Challengers Bangalore opener completely unleashed himself in the 2012 season and won matches single-handedly for his team. With brute power, and savage hitting, Gayle picked up a whopping 733 runs in 15 matches at an average of 61.08 with one hundred and 7 fifties and at an unbelievable strike-rate of 160.74. His best was a sensational unbeaten 128.

2. David Warner – 848 runs in IPL 2016:

Hot on Virat Kohli’s wheels in the 2016 season was Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner. The Australian opener led from the front in almost every game for his team and was the prime reason for Hyderabad’s title victory last season. Warner was in supreme form and displayed his full range of shots. In 17 games, he collected an outstanding 848 runs at a superb average of 60.57 with 9 fifties and one hundred and a strike-rate of 151.42. His best was an unbeaten 93.

1. Virat Kohli – 973 Runs in IPL 2016:

This was a dream season for Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli. To say that he was in good form is an understatement. Kohli simply did not put a foot wrong and the ball simply flew off his bat. No bowler could sort him out and Kohli dominated almost every attack that season. In 16 matches, Kohli amassed a colossal 973 runs at a stunning average of 81.08 with 4 hundreds and 7 fifties and a strike rate of 152.03. His best score was a sparkling 113. Truly a phenomenal performance that will be almost impossible to upstage.