Australian skipper Steve Smith was a frustated man after watching his team capitulate for 137 in the second innings, leaving India only 106 runs to chase to win the series and regain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The frustation boiled over when Hazlewood edged a delivery off Ashwin to Vijay at 2nd slip, who caught the ball and walked off. However replays suggested that some part of the ball may have touched the ground and as a result the third umpire gave benefit of the doubt to the batsman and indicated he was not out.
Few moments later, Smith was captured on video saying the words 'F*cking cheat'. After his 'brainfade' at Bengaluru, and left alone dismissal at Ranchi, this sort of conduct will not surprise too many people. What the match referee decides on this incident is anybody's guess at the moment.
Watch the video here:
Murali Vijay claims a catch that was grounded. Steve Smith captured by TV cameras mouthing "f***ing cheat"— Ben Horne (@BenHorne8) March 27, 2017