Ashes 2017 India vs New Zealand INDIA vs SRI LANKA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop

Ajinkya Rahane joins elite club

Ajinkya Rahane becomes second skipper to win first game across all formats

By Rashmi Nanda -

Indian Vice-Captain Ajinkya Rahane led India for the first time after playing 36 Test in the absence of regular Indian skipper Virat Kohli, who missed the Dharamsala Test due to a shoulder injury.

Under the captaincy of Rahane, India won the final and fourth Test of the four-match Test series by 8 wickets against Australia at HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala as well reclaimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

With this victory, Ajinkya Rahane etched his name in the record books and became only the second Indian skipper after Virender Sehwag to win his maiden game across all formats of the game.

Jinx also became the ninth Indian skipper to win his first Test match as a captain after Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Polly Umrigar, Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag and Anil Kumble.

At the very first, Ajinkya led India against Zimbabwe in a bilateral three-match One-Day International series in 2015 that Indian won 3-0. And second time Rahane led T20I team against the same opposition in 2015 in a two-match series that was squared 1-1 by Zimbabwe.

Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag is the only player, who has achieved the feat of bagging wins in his maiden games as a skipper across all three formats of the game.