Ashes 2017 India vs New Zealand INDIA vs SRI LANKA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop

India vs Australia 2017: All the stats from the India’s Dharamshala win

A look at numbers from India's Border Gavaskar trophy 2017 victory.

By Jatin Sharma -

India defeated Australia in the final Test at Dharamshala and clinched the series 2-1 in a riveting contest on a sporting pitch. India was led by Ajinkya Rahane in absence of Virat Kohli and this win continued India's unbeaten run at home.

Let's have a look at some numbers from the historic victory at Dharamshala: 

4 – times India has won a Test series after losing the first Test. This was the second instance against Australia after the historic 2000-01 Border Gavaskar Trophy, where India beat Australia in Kolkata and Chennai, after losing in Mumbai. Other instances came against England in 1972-73 and Sri Lanka in 2015.

1982Mohinder Amarnath scored 6 or more 50+ scores in Test series against West Indies. KL Rahul equaled that record with his 6 50+ scores against Australia in this Test series. Last batsman to do so against Australia was Graham Gooch in the 1993 Ashes.

4- Straight series wins for India against Australia at home. Australia last won a series in India in 2004-05, their only series win in last 10 series in India.

140.74Ajinkya Rahane’s strike rate in the fourth innings, as he scored 26 ball 38. This is his highest strike rate for any innings in his career so far.

4 – consecutive series losses for Australia in Asia. They lost the 2012-13 series in India, 2014-15 in UAE and 2016 in Sri Lanka. This time they managed to win a Test and also drew one, as compared to the previous three series, where they lost all the nine Tests they played.

3 – Man of the man awards for Ravindra Jadeja, which is the joint most for India. Virat Kohli also got 3 Man of the man awards. However, Jadeja has become the only player to win this award in three major series- against New Zealand, England and Australia.

13- number of centuries Steve Smith has scored in winning causes for Australia out of his 20 Test hundreds. Two of his centuries have come in a losing cause- this and against Sri Lanka in 2016 and 5 centuries have come in drawn matches.-

26- wins for India against Australia, their most against an opposition.

7 – successive series wins for India. Only England (1884-92) and Australia (2005-08) have more -9 successive series wins.


Jatin Sharma

Everything Cricket | Music | Sarcasm | Food Four thin