India vs New Zealand SRI LANKA vs INDIA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop Gallery

IndvsAus: Fourth Test, Day 4 Review: Rahane wins first Test as captain as India regain Border- Gavaskar trophy

Jadeja won the MOM while Smith won the Player of the series award.

By Anshuman Roy -

KL Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane guided India to an 8 wicket victory, thereby regaining the Border Gavaskar trophy for the 2016- 17 season. KL Rahul scored 52 as Ajinkya Rahane scored a counter attacking knock of 38 as they humbled Australia in their own backyard.

India needed 87 for victory on when they resumed on Day 4 and they scored the needful runs inside24 overs and well before lunch. It was action packed one and a half one of play nearly where Australia managed to pick two Indian wickets in the form of Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara.

It was India’s fourth series win on the trought after submitting teams like New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and now Australia. This was the toughest of all them all as Australia threw some serious challenge at Team India.

Australia started the series on a high after winning the first Test at Pune. Then India came back strongly at Bengaluru. Ranchi proved to be a stalemate and now India has signed off the season with style at Dharmasala.

It was a well fought series from both the teams and one would have to say that the write team has won. India has proved once again that they are unbeatable in their own backyard. Australia on the other hand has proved that they are good travelers.

India and Australia playing against each other is always competitive and this series have capped off a really fighting season for Team India.

India without Virat Kohli have proved their mettle and has proved that they are not just a one man team. Rahane who led in the absence of Kohli won his first Test as captain and it was he who started the Indian counter attack on the fourth day morning. He came out with all the positivity and intent and scored a quick fire 38 to guide the team to a victory.

This series has had everything but it was good to see cricket being the ultimate winner and the right team spirit was shown at the end of it all. Ravindra Jadeja was adjudged the man of the match while Steve Smith bagged the Man of the series. Steve Smith bagged the Player of the series award.  

Brief scores: Australia 300 & 137 (Glenn Maxwell 45; Ravindra Jadeja 3-24, Umesh Yadav 3-29, R Ashwin 3-29) lost to India 332 & 106/2 (KL Rahul 51*) by eight wickets.  

Anshuman Roy

Someone for whom Cricket is more than just a game.