SRI LANKA vs INDIA Latest News Featured COC Interviews Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop Gallery Humour

Dinesh Karthik leads Tamil Nadu to Prof. D.B.Deodhar title

Dhawal Kulkarni picked up 5 wickets for India B.

By Jatin Sharma -

India B and Tamil Nadu clashed in the finals of the Prof. D.B. Deodhar trophy at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Vizag today. Tamil Nadu looked forward to carry on their winning streak, while India B was looking to impress the selectors before Champions Trophy 2017 and IPL 2017.

Tamil Nadu batted first and despite a slow start from their openers, managed to end up with 303/9 in their 50 overs. The star of their batting lineup was Dinesh Karthik, who hammered a 91 ball 126, which included 14 fours and 3 sixes. Karthik was well supported by N Jagadeesan (55) and after his wicket, valuable contributions from Baba Indrajith (31*) and captain Vijay Shankar (21), ensured a strong finish for Tamil Nadu.

For India B, Dhawal Kulkarni was in devastating form, picking up 5/39 in his 10 overs. He also demolished the Tamil Nadu top order with three quick wickets. Ashoke Dinda, Chama Milind, Axar Patel and Harpreet Singh took 1 wicket each.

Shikhar Dhawan gave India B a solid start with 45 runs in 34 balls. However, regular wickets pegged the India B innings, as they were unable to stitch a partnership to stabilize the chase. Gurkeerat Mann saved some face for the team with a brilliant 64 and he got some support from Manish Pandey (32) and Harpreet Singh (36). Rahil Shah and M Mohammed shared the majority of wickets amongst themselves.

India B finally folded for 261 and Tamil Nadu lifted yet another trophy in Indian domestic season- Prof. D.B. Deodhar trophy.

Brief Scorecard: Tamil Nadu 303/9 (D. Karthik 126; D. Kulkarni 5/39) def. India B 261(G. Mann 64; R. Shah 3/40) by 42 runs


Jatin Sharma

Everything Cricket | Music | Sarcasm | Food Four thin