Ashes 2017 India vs New Zealand INDIA vs SRI LANKA Latest News Featured COC Interviews IndVsAus Domestic COC Hindi Social Scoop

Australia 'A' squad for South Africa tour announced

Usman Khawaja will be leading in the four-day games.

By Nilabh Aole -

Maxwell is expected to be a promising Test cricketer | image source: IANS

Australian batsman Usman Khawaja will be captaining the Australia A side that will tour South Africa for 4-day fixtures. The tour includes two four-day games followed by a one-day tri-series with India A being the third side. Middle-order batsman Travis Head will be leading the team in the limited overs tri-series.

This tour will be a great opportunity for Usman Khawaja to re-establish his claim in the national side Test team. He did not get a game during the recent Australia’s tour to India. Glen Maxwell will be featuring as the deputy of  Khawaja and some other players like Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Scott Boland, Hilton Cartwright will also be playing in both the formats.

The Australian selectors have given this as an opportunity for youngsters to play in overseas conditions and they have picked the best team possible. The tour is expected to be played in the month of July.

Also read: SCG gets worst rating

Justifying the team selection, Trevor Hohns said, “We have opted for a well-balanced squad featuring some experience blended with younger players, with an emphasis on building our depth for the future. This is a great chance for these players to experience foreign conditions against quality international sides and really test their skills.”

Hohns concluded, “Travis is a capable young leader and he will benefit from the opportunity at this level. There were some senior players that missed out on an opportunity this time round but this will certainly not detract from their chances of representing Australia in the future.”

Australia A Squad for four-day fixtures:

Usman Khawaja (c), Glenn Maxwell (vc), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Jackson Bird, Alex Carey, Hilton Cartwright, Travis Head, Kurtis Patterson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth

Australia A Squad for one-day fixtures:

Travis Head (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Hilton Cartwright, Sam Heazlett, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth


Nilabh Aole

I am genuine cricket fan, who respect the game as well